Atlantic Coast Conference

UNC—Chapel Hill was one of the charter members of the Atlantic Coast Conference, formed in 1953 along with six other former Southern Conference members frustrated with that conference's ban on postseason football. (The others were Clemson, Duke, Maryland, N.C. State, South Carolina, and Wake Forest.) By 2018 the university fielded teams in thirteen men's and fourteen women's varsity sports in the ACC and had won more than 250 conference championships, the most of any of the member schools.

Date Established: 1953

Date Range: 1953 – Present