Scroll Top

Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize

Two UNC—Chapel Hill faculty members have been awarded a Nobel Prize: Oliver Smithies, who won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2007 for his work on gene modifications using embryonic stem cells, and Aziz Sancar, who won the 2015 Nobel in Chemistry for his work on DNA repair. Smithies used part of his award to establish the Oliver Smithies Nobel Symposium to bring a Nobel laureate to campus each year for a visit and lecture. Carolina alumnus Robert Furchgott, class of 1937, earned a Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1998, for discoveries concerning nitric oxide as a signaling molecule in the cardiovascular system.

Date Established: 2015

Date Range: 2015 – 2015

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.