Scroll Top

National Pan-Hellenic Council

National Pan-Hellenic Council

The National Pan-Hellenic Council is composed of the nine historically African American Greek lettered fraternities and sororities. The organizations are popularly known as the Divine Nine. Established when the United States was racially segregated, the organizations no longer restrict membership but continue to commemorate and celebrate their origins in African American history and culture. Planning is currently underway for an NPHC Garden, in the courtyard of the Student and Academic Service Building. The Garden, intended to evoke traditional fraternity and sorority "plots" at historically-black universities, will be a gathering space for members as well as the entire campus community. The NPHC organizations with chapters at Carolina are listed below with charter date:

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (1974)

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (1976)

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (1973)

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. (1976)

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. (1973)

Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. (1982)

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. (1990)

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (1978)

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.